Posted in poetry

FACING DEMONS

https://youtu.be/Y_42aHAb85U

I faced the demon, a deja vu flash

two decades back…

Two weeks of anxiety, waves

new moon phase,

two days of random vomiting.

Today comes the hour,

see the minute dawning, seize it!

Anxiety grasping my heart

a warning…

The tide has turned,

my name is called…

a whisper escapes

“Oh fuck!”

the demon tightens its grip,

Sharp intake of breath

I move to center stage,

spotlight glares

inside my head the demon sneers,

anxiety rears

I look at the microphone,

I look at the page

I speak, “Open me carefully…”

The demon, retreats,

Anxiety subsides, goal achieved.

Tidelines 19.1.18, the tide has turned.

I smile, steering from the harbor

towards new horizons…

Author:

I have a keen interest in The Arts as therapy, and as a fundamental tool for understanding, and managing mental health. I love nature, reading, writing, poetry, photography, movies, painting, dance and yoga. And have a keen interest in social issues & humanities.

Leave a comment